Hall of Fame


Maine Green Hall of Fame


In 2019, the Maine Green Independent Party's state committee officially opened the Maine Green Hall of Fame. The committee intends that inductions will not necessarily be made annually, but that on occasion, the party will recognize members who have elevated the visibility of the Maine Green Independent Party through their own fame and prestige.


On May 19, 2019, the party inducted John Rensenbrink, founder of both the Green Party of the United States and Maine Green Party (now known as Maine Green Independent Party) into our Hall of Fame.


Rensenbrink is our first inductee into our Hall of Fame for good cause. Without his efforts, the party, both statewide and nationally, would not have become what it is today.


Thank you John!




On May 23, 2021, the party inducted Pat LaMarche into the Maine Green Hall of Fame. LaMarche ran twice for governor of Maine, in 1998 and 2006, and in 2004 was the Green Party of the United States nominee for vice president, running with David Cobb for president. LaMarche is a renowned author and tireless advocate for the poor, homeless and other marginalized communities.

Thank you Pat!




On June 4, 2022, the party inducted Jonathan Carter as the third member into our Hall of Fame. Jonathan ran twice for governor, in 1994 and 2002. He also ran for U.S. House of Representatives in 1992. For decades, Carter has fought tirelessly for Maine's woods and environment, not only through electoral activism, but also as the director of the Forest Ecology Network of Maine. Carter helped lead a referendum drive in 1996 to allow Mainers to vote on whether to ban clearcutting. Within the party, he is affectionately praised as our very own Lorax of Maine. The Green Independent Party owes its initial qualification for party status in Maine to Carter's first run for governor. We would not be party we are today if not for the dedication and drive of Jonathan Carter.

Thank you Jonathan! 


Carter Home